Alexander Fitzthum
pianist :: composer :: educator

Bio

Jazz Pianist :: Composer :: Founder of the AF MusicShop

Alexander Fitzthum (*1992) is a jazz pianist and composer from Austria. He can be heard in various formations: from unheard solo performances via experimental duos, outstanding trios and more through to larger ensembles like big bands and orchestras. Furthermore he founded the AF MusicShop (www.afmusicshop.at), an innovative concept of a music shop with special attentions to restorations of (Fender)Rhodes pianos and other vintage equipment.

One of his musical main projects is ’First Gig Never Happened‘ (www.firstgigneverhappened.com), an unconventional trio with soprano saxophone/bass clarinet, hammond organ/fender rhodes/piano and drums/percussion. This project was founded in 2016 and was already nominated for 'The New Austrian Sound of Music (NASOM)' 2018/2019, a promotional programme of music initiated by the Austrian foreign ministry (Bundesministerium für Europa, Integration und Äußeres - BMEIA) as well as for the ’Triolino-programme’ initiated by ’Jeunesse - Musikalische Jugend Österreichs’.

Other important projects are ’RanKeys’ (www.rankeys.at), an experimental duo with a drummer, where acoustic and electronic sounds are being combined in a variety of ways and also some (not so) traditional jazz trios and quartets.

Alexander Fitzthum attended the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna and played at different national and international festivals like Festival Internacional Buenos Aires Jazz 2017, Kick Jazz 2017, Jazz & The City Salzburg 2017, İzmir European Jazz Festival 2018, International Jazz Festival Bishkek 2018, International Ankara Jazz Festival 2018 and many more.

Alexander Fitzthum
pianist :: composer :: educator

Bio

Jazzpianist :: Komponist :: Gründer des AF MusicShops

Der österreichische Jazzpianist und Komponist Alexander Fitzthum (*1992) tritt in den verschiedensten Besetzungen auf: Angefangen von Soloperformances über außergewöhnliche Duo- und Triobesetzungen bis hin zu größeren Ensembles wie Big Bands und Orchester. Er ist außerdem Gründer des AF MusicShops (www.afmusicshop.at), einem neuartigen Konzept eines Musikalienhandels mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Restaurationen von (Fender)Rhodes-Pianos und anderem Vintage Equipment.

Eines seiner musikalischen Hauptprojekte ist „First Gig Never Happened“ (www.firstgigneverhappened.com), ein unkonventionelles Trio, welches Sopransaxophon/ Bassklarinette, Hammondorgel/Rhodes/Piano sowie verschiedenste Schlag- und Percussioninstrumente miteinander verbindet. Dieses Projekt wurde 2016 gegründet und bereits für das Förderprogramm „The New Austrian Sound of Music (NASOM)” 2018/2019 des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Europa, Integration und Äußeres (BMEIA) sowie für das von der „Jeunesse - Musikalische Jugend Österreichs“ initierte „Triolino-Programm“ nominiert.

Ein weiteres nennenswertes Projekt ist „RanKeys“ (www.rankeys.at), ein experimentelles Duo (Keys/Drums), bei welchem akustische und elektronische Sounds auf unterschiedlichste Art und Weise kombiniert werden.

Alexander Fitzthum studierte an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien und trat bereits bei nationalen als auch internationalen Festivals wie Festival Internacional Buenos Aires Jazz 2017, Kick Jazz 2017, Jazz & The City Salzburg 2017, İzmir European Jazz Festival 2018, International Jazz Festival Bishkek 2018, International Ankara Jazz Festival 2018 und einigen weiteren auf.